Results 1 to 12 of 12

Technical fouls

  1. #1
    Wildcat Fan SDRB's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,843
    Pick Em Rank
    176
    Rep Power
    2103872

    Default Technical fouls

    My ESPN2 feed cut out right as Walton was explaining the two Ts. I understand that one of them was for Cobbs mouthing off to the refs like a little bitch, but what was the bench T for?

  2. #2
    Wildcat Fan Cum's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    13
    Pick Em Rank
    167
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    montys son threw a towel on the court

  3. #3
    Baltimore Blowfish HSP's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    Location
    right behind you
    Posts
    2,133
    Pick Em Rank
    96
    Rep Power
    926096

    Default

    to be fair, he was just trying to clean up spilt milk...
    Twitter: @BeardownBill
    Papadeuce - "Whenever i meet up with kane my wife says to "tell your boyfriend hi for me""
    AztecWildcat - "There are more lawyers than people on this website. Jesus."
    GulfCoastCat - "grapejuice isn't rod?"
    Ryno - "
    ****, I better take a shower before work. I smell like DawgWarrior"
    cjw2222 - "The only thing Rondae can't shoulder shimmy? eeisners sex life"


  4. #4
    Wildcat Fan laxcat's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    115
    Pick Em Rank
    N/A
    Rep Power
    12325

    Arizona

    Funny how the refs will give a T for throwing a towel to the floor when a time-out was called and granted when the score wasn't close but would not call one when players from the bench twice entered the floor before game time expired in two close games?!? And I'm not even talking about fans on the court before the game time expired.

  5. #5
    Wildcat Fan SDRB's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,843
    Pick Em Rank
    176
    Rep Power
    2103872

    Default

    Originally Posted by laxcat View Post
    Funny how the refs will give a T for throwing a towel to the floor when a time-out was called and granted when the score wasn't close but would not call one when players from the bench twice entered the floor before game time expired in two close games?!? And I'm not even talking about fans on the court before the game time expired.
    In their defense, after reading the rules more closely, the refs made the right decision in both instances. The clock had been stopped to review how much time was left and since there was no play to interrupt, the court rushing wasn't actually a disruption.

    There should have been a T for Carson hanging on the rim though.

  6. #6
    Wildcat Fan titan4wildcats's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    849
    Pick Em Rank
    N/A
    Rep Power
    28853

    Default

    I don't understand the T's last night. I know why they were called, but why was it that the Wildcats got 4 free throws but no possession after them? I know when you get a T, the other team shoots two free throws and gets the ball. So, if the other team gets two T's you only get the four free throws and no ball? I guess they'd have to get 3 T's...then we'd get 6 free throws and the ball...and some pop corn...

  7. #7
    PGU OG Wyo's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Rock Springs, WY --> The Dirty T
    Posts
    7,534
    Pick Em Rank
    30
    Rep Power
    6401436

    Default

    Originally Posted by titan4wildcats View Post
    I don't understand the T's last night. I know why they were called, but why was it that the Wildcats got 4 free throws but no possession after them? I know when you get a T, the other team shoots two free throws and gets the ball. So, if the other team gets two T's you only get the four free throws and no ball? I guess they'd have to get 3 T's...then we'd get 6 free throws and the ball...and some pop corn...
    I would assume that in a dead ball/timeout situation theres no change of possession.. but thats also assuming the refs got the call right

  8. #8
    Yay Area Killa Beez Summercat's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Oro Valley, AZ
    Posts
    5,852
    Pick Em Rank
    102
    Rep Power
    2463491

    Default Re: Technical fouls

    Originally Posted by Wyo View Post
    I would assume that in a dead ball/timeout situation theres no change of possession.. but thats also assuming the refs got the call right
    I don't think you get possession on a Tech like you were saying on a dead ball. Only time you get free throws and the ball is on a flagrant or clear path foul as they call it in the NBA.

    Sent from my Galaxy S4

  9. #9
    Queen ared4's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    2,490
    Pick Em Rank
    113
    Rep Power
    7884033

    Default

    A technical foul is two shots and resume play at the point of interruption. So wherever the ball was when the technical was called is where we start play from.
    Tranny: "SimonSaysSweetNothingsInSDRBlowUpDollsAreMyFavori te'sEars"

    Stairmaster: "Kane is [living with] dawgwarrior's sister"

  10. #10
    Queen ared4's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    2,490
    Pick Em Rank
    113
    Rep Power
    7884033

    Default

    There's no such thing as a clear path foul in college basketball.

    The only time you get two and the ball is on a flagrant one, a flagrant two or a dead ball contact technical foul.

    All other unsporting technicals are just 2 shots.
    Tranny: "SimonSaysSweetNothingsInSDRBlowUpDollsAreMyFavori te'sEars"

    Stairmaster: "Kane is [living with] dawgwarrior's sister"

  11. #11
    Bleeds red and blue roverfish's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    365
    Pick Em Rank
    N/A
    Rep Power
    945

    Default

    Originally Posted by ared4 View Post
    A technical foul is two shots and resume play at the point of interruption. So wherever the ball was when the technical was called is where we start play from.
    To his credit, both in terms of game knowledge and also character, Coach Miller pointed to Cal after the last FT to say it was their ball. Classy.
    "This isn't the place to pout" -- Sean Miller, 21 October 2012

  12. #12
    Seattle Silver Foxes Jav's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2009
    Location
    San Diego, California, United States
    Posts
    2,481
    Pick Em Rank
    69
    Rep Power
    2782080

    Default

    Originally Posted by ared4 View Post
    A technical foul is two shots and resume play at the point of interruption. So wherever the ball was when the technical was called is where we start play from.
    Ya, didn't they change the rule about possession of the ball after a T sometime in the last 5 or 6 years? I'm getting old, can't remember this stuff :-)
    HTTFB

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •